February 5, 2021

NDN Collective In-Depth Series with Stanford Social Innovation Review

"Decolonization and Radical Indigenous Futures" is a series published at the Stanford Social Innovation Review (SSIR) in partnership with NDN Collective.

Decolonization and radical indigenous futures

Originally published at Stanford Social Innovation Review

Indigenous people today are at the intersection of some of the most pressing issues facing humanity, from climate change and environmental degradation to human rights struggles and movement building. Our unique lived experiences as survivors of genocide, colonialism, and disenfranchisement position us well to bring forth grassroots solutions that not only come from within the trenches of communities closest to the struggle and closest to the pain, but solutions that break down many of the power structures that harm and divide us all. 

For decades, social entrepreneurs—predominantly white, heterosexual, cisgender men—have forced their own solutions onto Indigenous communities. In this in-depth series, presented in partnership between NDN Collective and SSIR, you will hear from Indigenous leaders with solutions for investors who want to help further Indigenous priorities, from folks working on transformative narrative change and increasing Indigenous visibility, from organizers speaking on how Indigenous people are building our collective political power, and more. You’ll be able to see the many ways Indigenous people are working to successfully solve issues that benefit our own communities and, ultimately, all of us.

We need the autonomy to pursue the building of a better world, informed by our practices, culture, and generations of wisdom.

NDN Collective is an Indigenous-led organization dedicated to building Indigenous power. This means that our innovation not only needs to be uplifted by philanthropists, nonprofits, and foundations. We need the autonomy to pursue the building of a better world, informed by our practices, culture, and generations of wisdom. Building the collective power of Indigenous Peoples, communities, and Nations not only means exercising our inherent right to self-determination; it means working to build a world on a foundation of justice and equity for all people and for the planet.

As you read this series over the next few months, we invite you to call into question your own beliefs about the role of philanthropy and grantmaking. We invite you to interrogate your understanding of Indigenous people, and of our issues and fights. We ask you to open your heart to boundless possibilities that you haven’t even begun to hear of yet, because of how segregated the US still is by race and class. We hope you walk away from each new article with curiosity and the simple understanding that so many of us don’t know yet what we don’t understand. The people writing for this series are here to teach and learn from each other, working together to build a world in which we can all thrive. We hope you truly hear us, as we invite you into our respective worlds and share our unique perspectives, so we can move forward together, truly, for the first time. 

Read the first article in this series by NDN Collective President and CEO Nick Tilsen, “Building Indigenous Power and Investing in Indigenous Self-Determination.”

April 2022 Edition

Stay Informed. Take Action.

Subscribe to the NDN allies newsletter

Sign up to get our newsletter. Delivered once per month.

We care about the protection of your data and would never sell your email or share it with anyone without your permission.

NDN Collective Launches Community Engagement Survey for Distributing Nearly $50M to Native People in SD, ND, and MN Posted 5 months ago
“We have an ambitious goal of hearing from over 20,000 Native individuals situated in the tri-state area. Our voices and lived experiences matter - and so do our visions and dreams for an abundant future.”
Meet the Collective Abundance Fund Regional Advisory Committee Posted 5 months ago
The Regional Advisory Committee will be key to building the regenerative movement while supporting reciprocal relationships that are marked by collective learning, knowledge sharing and consideration of diverse insight as part of NDN Collective’s respective areas of work and commitment.
NDN Collective Announces “Community Action Fund” for Indigenous Frontline Organizers Posted 5 months ago
Grants up to $30,000 offered to support on the ground organizers and movement builders who stand on the frontlines to defend Indigenous Peoples inherent rights to self-determination and equity for all people and the planet.
NDN Collective Calls for Boycott of Rapid City Businesses with Racist Policies Posted 5 months ago
The goal for the ongoing boycott is to discourage community members from supporting businesses with racist policies & practices, and instead encourage them to use buying power to impact change by redirecting their dollars to businesses that stand in solidarity with Indigenous people.
NDN Collective Responds to DOI Announcement of Reformed Onshore Oil and Gas Lease Sales Posted 6 months ago
“We must carry this win forward to remain steadfast in our work to shift from fossil fuels to renewable energy, and we must also turn our attention to reforming offshore oil and gas leasing. It is clear that the Department of Interior has been paying attention to the need for making decarbonization more accessible to Native and Indigenous homes, communities, and Tribal Nations, and we need that accessibility to extend even further."
NDN Collective Announces Regional Advisory Committee to Guide Design of $50M Collective Abundance Fund Posted 6 months ago
Native community leaders and representatives from reservation and urban areas in North Dakota, South Dakota and Minnesota selected to support the development of the Collective Abundance Fund from a $50M Bush Foundation award to NDN Collective to support closing the racial wealth gap.
NDN Collective Responds to SD Gov. Noem's Executive Order Restricting Critical Race Theory Posted 6 months ago
“Noem’s executive order is yet another move that tragically diminishes the capacity of our young people to see difficult historical truths with empathy. We need leadership whose actions ensure all of our youth will have enriching learning opportunities that prepare them for a transformative future."
NDN Collective Response to IPCC Report Pointing to Colonialism as Climate Change Driver Posted 6 months ago
The IPCC report acknowledging colonialism as a driver of climate change reinforces what Indigenous Peoples across the globe have been declaring for decades.
NDN Collective Releases Position Paper on Palestine Posted 6 months ago
"Today on Palestinian Land Day (يوم الأرض), we uplift the sacrifices that our people have made and continue to make so that we can fight for a liberated future and a dignified present. As Palestinians living in exile on Turtle Island, we have learned so much from our siblings in struggle and are grateful for their inspiring courage in the face of so much adversity."
'The Right OF Return Is LANDBACK'

By NDN Collective's LANDBACK Team

Posted 6 months ago
Today on Palestinian Land Day, we uplift the ongoing struggle of our Palestinian relatives for liberation of their homeland and full return for all Palestinian people. We reaffirm that our solidarity as people runs deep and is both historical and ongoing.

United like never before, we rise together—arm in arm—to equip all Indigenous Peoples with the tools needed to become architects of our future. Through a holistic approach to infrastructure, funding, advocacy, movement building, and philanthropy we are fostering a world of justice and equity for all people and the planet.